The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) were developed through a state-led national initiative to establish consistent and clear education standards for English-language arts and mathematics to better prepare American students for success in college, career, and the competitive global economy. The California State Board of Education adopted the standards on August 2, 2010.

The Smarter Balanced assessment system utilizes computer-
adaptive tests and performance tasks that allow students to show what they know and are able to do. This system is based on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics. The Smarter Balanced assessment system has three components designed to support teaching and learning throughout the year: the summative assessments, the interim assessments, and the Digital Library of formative assessment tools.

1) English Language Arts (ELA)

2) Mathematics

3) Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS)

4) History/Social Sciences
5) Arts
Additional Resources:
The Mathematics Assessment Program (MAP) brings life to the Common Core State Standards, developing materials and improved assessments. 
America Achieves helps communities and states leverage policy, practice and leadership to build high quality educational systems and prepare each young person for success in careers, college, and citizenship.
The Partnership for 21st Century Skills is a national organization that advocates for 21st century readiness for every student.
Ed Leader 21 is the nation's first professional learning community dedicated to helping district leaders enhance the 4cs (critical thinking, communication, collaboration and creativity) in schools.




Raquel Rose
Assistant Superintendent
Laura Trahan

Beth Kradepohl
Program Manager